College Notes

Yesterday at 12:00 PM

College Notes


University of Maine, Orono: Peter Strand, Yarmouth, summa cum laude.

University of Richmond, Va.: Samuel Hyland, Falmouth.

Dean’s list

Marietta, Ohio, College: Kasey Woodworth, North Berwick.

Merrimack College, North Andover, Mass.: Hannah Cunningham, Kennebunk; Robert Leighton, Portland; Samantha Ricker, Lewiston.

Rochester, N.Y., Institute of Technology: Stephen Martel, Saco.

Awards and honors

Central Maine Community College, Lewiston: the following students were honored at the annual awards dinner: Erika Derosier of Lewiston and Kyle Forsythe of Harrison, All-Maine Academic Team; Nick Hinkley of Wiscasset and Danielle McCusker of South Portland, Male and Female Athletes of the Year; Delan Fulgham of Lewiston, Scholar ship Recipient of the Year; Jairus Smith of Oxford and Josline DuBois of Wilton, “Against All Odds” Awards; Matthew MacDonald of Turner, Student of the Year; David Maddox of Raymond, Student Veteran of the Year.

Saint Joseph’s College of Maine, Standish: The following have been inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing: Sarah Berube, South China; Brittany Bracy, Cape Neddick; Lauren Cartmel, Cameo Larrivee and Rebecca Pelletier, all of Lewiston; Brittany Giroux, Saco; Lauren Holly, York; Sarah Hussey, Waterboro; Meaghan Johnson, Portland; Molly McDonough, Westbrook; Danielle Peart, Jay; Elizabeth Rossignol, Biddeford; Debra Francis, Topsham; Aloyoise MacNaught, New Gloucester.

These students have been inducted into the college’s chapter of Psi Chi, International Honor Society in Psychology: Allison Emond, Lewiston; Devin Flynn and Kyle Pinkham, both of Auburn; Courtney Sabasteanski, Windham; Stavroula Katsigiannis, Fryeburg; Adam Hawkes, Gorham.

Department awards: Kyle Neagle, Lisbon Falls, Biology Department Award; Nora Antonio, Bridgton, Accounting Award; Elizabeth Wise, Gorham, Management Award and was named Valedictorian of the Class of 2012; Andrew Mockler, Saco, Fine Arts Award; Katharine Gagne, Cumberland, Psychology Department Award;  Halley Alfano, Brownfield, Senior Psychology Award; Megan Cutter, Gorham, First-Year Chemistry Award and the Exercise Science Award; Alexander Dahms, Gorham, Criminal Justice Award; Rachel Neales, Westbrook, Sociology Award.

Other Awards: Jessica Handlen, Biddeford, Sister Anna McNaughton Award; Anthony Richards, Brunswick, Sister Dolores Sablone Award and the Exceptional Achievement in Academic Service Learning Award; Molly Shaw, Naples, Jennifer Mary Jimenez Award; Dorothy Leckie, Naples, Emerging Leader Award; Louis Girlando, Standish, Innovator Award; Robert Michaud, Limington, Residence Life Award.

University of Southern Maine, Portland and Gorham: The following students were honored at the annual Student Involvement Recognition Gala: Hannah Schwenk-Sandau of Freeport, Outstanding Student Leader Award; Ashley Tellier of Limington and Si Khuu of Portland, Outstanding Student Employee Award; Daniel Crothers of Peaks Island; Outstanding Contribution to Community Service Award; Mea Tavares of Portland, Outstanding Contribution to Campus Diversity Award; Christopher MacDonald of Saco, Senior Husky Achievement Award;  Amanda Roderick of Westbrook, Outstanding Contribution to Campus Life Award.

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send Question/Comment to the Publisher

Open all references in tabs: [1 - 4]

Leave a Reply